The Broken Blade by Anna Thayer

I received this book from the author/publisher via NetGalley for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are entirely my own.

The Synopsis: 

Eamon Goodman is now the Master’s Right Hand. But despite being the second-in-command to the ruler of the River Realm, Eamon becomes the victim of vengeful plots engineered by the other Quarter Hands. Eamon finds himself powerless to stop them and the people he cares for are under threat. Eamon then discovers that the Nightholt – the book he long ago delivered to the Master’s Hands – holds the key to the Master’s power, which will become absolute upon the death of the King. Thus the stage for the final battle is set. Eamon rides out at the head of the Master’s army and must finally decide where his true allegiance lies. His choice will determine the fate of the River Realm…

My Review: 

Before I begin, hats off to the cover designer; just wow!

Despite this book being number 3 in The Knight of Eldaran series, I was able to follow relatively well with the story and the characters were easy to engage with. Though I’m sure that the first 2 books would have helped explain much of the story.

The plot was really well thought-out and I was pleased with the number of twists that were scattered throughout this gripping story. However, I did find the writing to be kind of choppy and the scenes were too short for my liking; but it wasn’t bad enough for me to dislike the book.

Overall, I rate The Broken Blade 4 out of 5 stars and look forward to beginning the story with books 1 and 2 as soon as I get them!

Add to Goodreads Shelf

Rated:

screen-shot-2016-12-26-at-6-04-19-pm

 

 

Comments? Please don't hesitate to give me your feedback!

